What are the 3 types of ignition systems?

Asked by Mike Peters on September 16, 2021

Categories: Automotive Auto parts

Rating: 4.9/5 (37 votes)

There are three basic types of automotive ignition systems: distributor-based, distributor-less, and coil-on-plug (COP). Early ignition systems used fully mechanical distributors to deliver the spark at the right time. Next came more reliable distributors equipped with solid-state switches and ignition controlmodules.

What does the ignition control module do? It controls th ignition coil's firing time. Theignition control module is the heart of an automobile's ignition system. It regulates spark generation within the engine. Theignition control module relies on the car battery to provide the 'spark' that sets the ignition system in motion.

How does the ignition system work? The purposeof the ignition system is to generate a very high volt age from the car's 12 volt battery , and to send this to each sparkplug in turn, igniting the fuel-air mixture in the engine 's combustion chambers . The coil is the component that produces this high voltage.

Where does ignition coil get power? Power from the ignition coil is supplied to the rotor. The rotor spins in time with the engine. When the end of the rotor is near one of the contacts, electricity arcs to the contact. From there, the power travels down a spark plug wire tothe associated spark plug.