What regions are in France?

Asked by Margit Becnel on September 04, 2021

Categories: Travel Europe travel

Rating: 4.8/5 (33 votes)

Cultural and climatic differences allow a classification of all French regions by cardinal directions:

  • Northern France: Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy, Picardy.
  • Eastern France: Alsace, Champagne, Franche-Comté, Lorraine, Rhône-Alpes.
  • Western France: Aquitaine, Brittany, Pays de la Loire, Poitou-Charentes.

What is the shape of France? hexagon

Which part of France is most popular? From the cultured cities to the quaint countryside, explore this diverse country with our list of the best places tovisit in France.

  1. Paris & Versailles.
  2. The Charming Countryside of Provence.
  3. The Côte d'Azur.
  4. Mont Saint-Michel in Normandy.
  5. The Châteaux of the Loire Valley.
  6. Reims & its Magnificent Gothic Cathedral.

What are the 22 regions of France? Regions of France

  • Avignon - Provence Region.
  • Bordeaux - Aquitaine Region.
  • Dijon - Burgundy Region.
  • French Alps Region.
  • Loire Valley - Pays De La Loire Region.
  • Lyon - Rhone Alpes Region.
  • Nice & Cannes - French Riviera Region.
  • Normandy - Normandy Region.

What is the biggest region? Western United States (also known as the Far West, American West, or simply the West), is the largest region of the country by land area and is comprised of 13 states. The Rocky Mountains are the most distinctive feature of this region, which has a diverse climate including desert, semi-desert, andforests.